About Us

Executive 2021-2022

President Phyllis Argyle
Vice President vacant
Secretary Moira Sarling, Darlene Finch (backup)
Treasurer Helene Johnston
Past Pres/Sunshine Kimala Thompson

Committees 2021-2022

Membership Mona MacKinnon, Trish Clooney
Program / Workshops Karen Biddlecombe, Darlene Finch, Jude Grebeldinger, Sue Lowell, Andrea Wilson, Tess Strauss
Website Val Marus
Facebook Karen Biddlecombe
Block of the Month Eileen Evans, Donna Thompson, Deb Burton
Comfort Quilts Jean Whitehead (Chair), Lois Anderson (Treasurer), Jeanette Thompson (Secretary), Linda Child, Marie Malcolm, Janet Flumerfelt,  Nona Fellows, Danielle Stephens
Publicity Moira Sarling
CQA Rep Jeanette Thompson
Library Merilee Martell, Joanne Polan, Susan Kimm-Jones, Wendy Egilson
Newsletter Marian Williamson, Phyllis Argyle, Val Marus
Bus Trips Sharon Roye
Quilt Show Karen Biddlecombe & Bernardine Somogyi
Youth Outreach Vacant
Retreat Committee Vacant

Our History

In 1982 a group of women on the Sunshine Coast got together to share their love of quilting. Pat Crucil, an accomplished quilter and teacher, established this first quilt group on the Coast.

1982 SCQG
1982: Joanne Segate, Florence Doig, Chris Ward, Vera Nelson, Lissi Hemstalk, Kerrin Brookes; Janet Flumerfelt, Pat Crucil, and Pauline Webber (nee Hoene)
1985 SCQG
1985: Nancy Jaeger, Joanne Segate, Lissi Helmstalk, Marie Malcolm, Vera Nelson, Chris Ward; Pat Crucil, Ann Fraser (& Brooke born Nov. 84), Kerrin Brookes, Janet Flumerfelt, and Pauline Webber. Quilters Christmas celebration 1985.
Wedding Gift quilt 1984
Wedding Gift: Group quilt presented by Pat Crucil to Pauline (nee Hoene) Webber as a wedding gift September 1984

Today the Sunshine Coast Quilters’ Guild is the umbrella organization for five local community quilt groups from Pender Harbour to Gibsons, with a membership of over 100.

We continue to meet eight days throughout our Guild year, from September to May at the Sechelt Seniors Centre (5604 Trail Avenue). Our meetings consist of Mini-Workshops, Business Meetings, Show and Tell, and a Program.